Search This Site

2022 VA-CNIP Assessment Event

CAE logo.            VA Cyber navigator graphic                  

The Cyber Innovation & Society Initiative and the Commonwealth Cyber Initiative completed the first internship program this Summer, 2022. This initiative is funded by National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity Program within the National Security Agency. The program promotes academic excellence for institutions that are equipping the cybersecurity workforce to protect critical infrastructure.

The group of student interns and faculty will gather once more in Charlottesville at the University of Virginia August 11 - 12 to discuss the program experience. 

Parking: Daytime parking is available in the UVA lots labeled "E3". To register your vehicle:

  • Visit this website:
  • Enter this access code: CNIP22TH51
  • Continue through the form to complete the transaction

Notes: Registration can be done in advance or on arrival. Though the form has a section labeled "Billing Information" all charges will go to the department. Guests registering will see a $0.00 charge. The PDF permit that is generated is optional and does not have to be printed or displayed. Cancellations of parking sessions should be emailed to

Thursday's dinner parking for the Colonnade Club is in the UVA Central Grounds garage (use the same code as above, as a separate transaction but select the Central Grounds garage). 

Thursday, August 11, 2022

Friday, August 12, 2022

Daytime location: Rice Hall Room 130 and Davis Commons



08:30 – 09:00 AM 

Light Breakfast

09:00– 09:15 AM


Jack Davidson, Professor of Computer Science, University of Virginia

Karen Hoyt-Steward, Locality Security (Voting Tech) Program Manager, Virginia Department of Elections

Johnathan Barbett, Director of Information Security, Virginia Department of Elections


Intern Presentations (5 minutes per county)

  • Madison

  • Clarke

  • Mecklenberg

  • Appomatox

  • Wythe

  • Floyd

  • Roanoke County

  • Roanoke City

  • Henry




Intern Presentations (5 minutes per county)

  • Lexington

  • Pittsylvania

  • Nelson

  • Chesterfield

  • Northampton

  • Lancaster

  • Westmorland

  • Richmond County

12:00 – 13:00

Lunch and Keynote Speaker

Lauren Eddy, General Registrar and Director of Elections, Albemarle County

13:00 – 14:00

Focus Groups Feedback on Internship Experience

14:00 – 14:30

Report out from focus groups

14:30 – 15:30

Focus Groups Feedback on Overall Experience

15:30 – 16:00 Report out from focus groups
16:00 – 16:15 Closing remarks from Jack Davidson and Karen Hoyt-Stewart
16:15 – 17:30 Fun Fair in Darden Courtyard